About our City

La Verne is a city of more than 30,000 residents and a well balanced community with a good mix of residential, commercial and industrial features. La Verne is a “close knit” community that is home to many fine institutions and facilities among which include the University of La Verne (founded in 1891), Brackett Airport and fine public and private schools. As one of the most desirable communities in metropolitan Southern California, La Verne is a progressive city that has retained much of its small town charm.

On average, there are 287 sunny days per year in La Verne and 19 inches of rain per year.

City Facts:

Land Area:                                  8.42 square miles

Number of Households                              11,589

Average household size                                  2.65



City Council

La Verne maintains a council-manager form of government. Residents elect council members based on a five-district system to represent them. The Mayor is selected by the Council Members on an annual basis. The duties of the Mayor include: presiding over the City Council meetings, signing agreements ,and appointing commissioners and committee members with Council approval. As elected representatives of its citizens, the City Council develops and establishes ordinances and policies in the best interest of the City. The Council acts as a part-time “board of directors,” appointing a City Manager to conduct the City’s day-to-day affairs. Citizen commissions advise the Council on planning, youth and family issues, youth sports activities, and senior affairs. The City Council also appoints a City Clerk who conducts municipal elections, maintains official records, serves as secretary to the City Council, and provides administrative services. With approximately 19,251 registered voters, the election process is an important element of the City’s democratic process. The City Clerk organizes and oversees the municipal election process while guaranteeing the candidates right to inform the voters. The City Council Meets the first and third Mondays, 6:30 p.m.

Tim Hepburn, District 4 Mayor

Wendy Lau, District 5 Mayor Pro Tem

Rick Crosby, District 2 Council Member

Meshal Kashifalghita, District 3 Council Member

Steven Johnson, District 1 Council Member

City Hall
3660 “D” Street, La Verne, CA 91750
(909) 596-8726
Hours: Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
*1st & 3rd Mondays Until 6:30 p.m.
Closed Fridays

La Verne Chamber of Commerce

2332 D Street, Unit E

La Verne, CA 91750

(909) 593-5265

Sign up for our eNewsletter

Get Connected